Tags

, , , ,

I ended up being on the plane from Houston to Munich with two other girls heading to Edelweiss, it was nice to not be entirely alone on the journey. They are both from Texas, and I found out that there’d only be 4 of us total coming to Germany that day.

The flight ended up being delayed by a couple hours, meaning we couldn’t get to Munich until about noon at the earliest. All I could do was YOLO it out. Finally boarded, got on the 11 hour flight, snuck in nachos because oh my god have you ever eaten airplane food it makes my stomach hate me at the thought of it. And I finally got to see the second Muppets movie and I didn’t think I could love TIna Fey more but then she ran a Goulag and had a Russian accent and fell in love with a puppet Frog and I fell more in love with her.

Finally landed, deplaned, met up with the other girls, deplaned, got luggage, and got to customs. All of us were confused as to what we should do to go through and, no visas or anything, but the guy just looked at my travel orders for less time than I look at a picture on Imgur and said “danke’ in a more bored voice than Joseph gives me when I ask him to explain things he’s learned to me.

After getting through we found Laura from Edelweiss, and ended up having to wait for the last girl for three hours. There as a beer garden across the courtyard so we all went and had beers. Really good, really nice, enjoyed it. But probably not as great for my dehydrated and exhausted body as say…water, or coffee.

while we waited Laura asked us if we knew what we would be doing. Katie said she’d be doing housekeeping, which turns out to be a pretty great job because they can get time off pretty easily. Her friend works there so she had told her earlier. Deidre is doing front desk. Laura turned to me and asked and I said I had no earthly clue, but probably serving since that’s my background. I asked if everyone that orked there had been hospitality majors (since Katie and Deidre had said they ere) and I mentioned I’d been a Gov Major and Laura turns me and says

“Oh you might be in security then”

Yeah. Me. In security. I have no upper body strength and am perhaps the least intimidating person on the planet. Besides my baby nephew.

Danielle got through eventually and the airline had lost her luggage. It sucks so hard for her. Finally got to Garmisch and holy frick is Bavaria utterly beautiful. I’ll post pictures later. Probably just the next post full of pictures.

Garmisch is really quaint, and the Alps are surreal. Its like they’re fake, like someone is constantly projecting green screen around us. There are several mountains all around us. And Edelweiss is right at the foot of one. Basically every time i”m outside a beautiful Alp mountain is in my sight. I’m so excited to hike and travel and go all around just Bavaria itself not even speaking of Europe.

Managed to stay up til 10 and got up at 7 this morning so no jet lag.

Okay this post has been long and boring enough, more later on Everything itself. But basically i’m here and safe.